After her fantastic win over Samantha Stosur yesterday, there was really no indication that Elena would announce her retirement the day after that! She had no major injuries (although she suddenly withdrew from the French Open semi's) and she hasn't announced any plans to marry (that I've heard of). And she's back in the Top 10 after missing it for a few weeks this year! So to suddenly announce her retirement was a complete shock!
Anyhow, she did give us, her fans, a lot to remember her by. I 'discovered' her in 2003, while I was in Oslo. In Europe, they have a channel just for tennis. We don't have that in the Philippines. We didn't even get full coverage of the French Open till about 2005! Anyhow, I think the tournament was in Filderstadt and I saw her play. And her name stuck with me. There was something in the way she played that attracted me to her.
Then, in 2004, she reached the semi's of the US Open, and she was playing against Mauresmo. It was a ridiculously funny match because, here she was, her serve was barely going in, but Mauresmo, who is normally, a smart player, was just wilting from the heat!! All the commentators were shocked because Dementieva's serve was deserting her, but she was pounding Mauresmo out of the court with her forehands! That's when I became a real of fan of hers. I was thinking, how could this player, with such a glaring weakness, reach a final of a Grand Slam! And it was her second final for that year!! I started cheering for her after that!
I guess I love tennis players with flaws and weaknesses. Remember, this was those years when the Williamses were just overpowering and were unstoppable. She reminded me of Martina Hingis, who is also not a power player, but who just used her cunning to win games. Elena was not popular for her cunning, she was popular for fighting, point by point!
My most memorable moment of hers was the 2009 semi-final with Serena Williams. That was probably, the most memorable match for me in Wimbledon history - aside from Marion Bartoli, defeating Justine Henin, I think 2 years before. I love underdogs! I am a Filipino!! I love that match!!! Serena was a tigress - and she always is - she never gives you a freebie - to defeat her in a Grand Slam - you have to eat her alive!! Elena lost but the level of that game was so high - it was like watching a Federer - Nadal final!! It was a beautiful spectacle of women's tennis!! Athletic, powerful shots, never-say-die rallies, and it was a cliffhanger till the end!! I think it almost reached 3 hours - which is rare in the women's game!
Oh well, I will miss her badly. The truth is, there are only two celebrities that I really care for in this world - translation - I would cry if they die! Madonna and Elena. They're two women who have inspired me greatly in my life. Today is a bit of a death, but thankfully, not physically. But life goes on, and I'm sure I'll find somebody new. Thanks Elena for all the good memories and I wish you well!!
Labels
Popular Posts of the Week
-
Andy Murray ends 2016 as the #1 male player in my blog, based on all the points he got from all the to...
-
Jelena Dokic springs another surprise run on all of us, by reaching the quarterfinals of the prestigious Paris Open. Currently ranked #12...
-
While I was doing the head-to-heads for the draw which has 2014 champion Stan Wawrinka in it, the results ended with 2014 US Open runne...
-
Steve Johnson, American collegiate player, has already reached the third round of this year's US Open , despite being ranked #246 in...
-
Yung Jan-Chan of Chinese-Taipei, currently ranked #118 in the world, was a former top 70 player in 2007 and 2008. Today, she won over Da...
-
Here are the top 8 women before the French Open. 1. Serena Williams - 23,334,867 pts 2. Simona Halep (ROU) - 12,413,440 3. Maria Sh...
-
So happy that they finally found a sponsor that could bring back the Manila leg in the ATP Challenger tour. Taga-Cebu pa ang backe...
-
Maria Sharapova must've been disappointed to see that Serena is once again on her side of the draw in the final grand slam this ye...
-
This is only Roger's third tournament this year. He won Doha, then lost to Djokovic in the semi's in Melbourne, and loses again to...
-
These past three days, for some reason, I have only seen the matches of Sorana Cirstea and Dominika Cibulkova and whoever their oppone...
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment